India, also known as ‘Bharat’ or ‘Hindustan,’ is a South Asian nation that is the seventh largest by area, the second most populous after China, and the world’s most populous democracy. It shares borders with Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Myanmar, and is bounded by the Indian Ocean, Arabian Sea, and Bay of Bengal. Sri Lanka and the Maldives are also next to India.